Infinite Unreality Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Sword Bearer

Doom 3

Well, I posted this on Facebook just a little bit ago, and figured I would share it here also, seeing as how there are hardly any posts going on. GOTTA KEEP THE BOARDS ALIVE!!

The reason I have never written anything about Doom 3 before, is because I have never been able to play through the game without cheat codes. Our previous computer was slow enough that any battle of great importance, or even with several enemies on the screen, became so slow that it was literally impossible to beat without "God" mode. And so, with my new comp, and a sudden desire to somewhat relive my memories of the past of the old Doom and Doom 2 games, I grabbed my dad's Doom 3 disks...Diskes?? And fired it up to check it out.

I've had Doom3 loaded on my comp now for several months, but mainly used it to relieve some stress from work and life in general by playing through Nightmare with "God" mode on. But this time, I decided to risk life and limb of the "Doom Guy," and played through the game without cheats. And I have to say, boy am I glad I did.

Doom3 is really an awesome FPS. It takes all the stuff that made the first few games great, added some really good graphics (for when it came out,) and threw in a decent story. Or at least, decent in the way that most FPS games stories go. The game itself is dark, and quite spooky. The sounds of the Cherubs, these weird half fly half baby looking things, is anoyingly creepy and keeps you on your toes whenever you hear them. Not to mention the fact that they can leap incredible distances and travel in packs can make them rather dangerous. They like to group up on you and smack you over and over making it difficult to hit them. But I digress.